WC3 Massive Overhaul Needed

Discuss the ways in which Impossible Bosses could be improved.
Complete Noob

WC3 Massive Overhaul Needed

Postby daveshan » December 25th, 2015, 3:21 am

Just played my first couple games and I love the concept. I love how new it is. And I love how it's doing something with the map editor that isn't just a TD or 5 heroes v 5 heroes.

That being said, I found a lot of problems with it. Especially for new players.

1. Tell the Player They Can Dodge Spells

This is not intuitive for a first timer. In WC3, nearly every spell or ability will hit when cast. New players need to be told very clearly that, just because a spell is cast, doesn't mean it has to hit.

2. Get Rid of Flavor Text in the Spell Descriptions

The game moves fast and you have little prep time and pick time. Looking over my spells, I don't have time to read something like:

"The mage charges a lightning bolt for 4 seconds and hurls it at the target. Lightning bolt does 50 initial damage and then 10 damage each second. Lasts 8 seconds."

In the short span I have to look at the items I can buy, look at the upgrades available, ask people what's best, and then try to dodge spells, that is way too long to read.

A better format would be this and color coded in such a way:

"Type: Lightning
Charge: 4
Initial Damage: 50
Lingering Damage/Time: 10/8 sec
Additional Effects: None"

Not only is that easier to read, but now I know, right away, every time I look at a spell, that's the format. I won't even have to look at the words 'type' and 'charge' anymore. I'll know the order they're in and the color that they are. Quick and simple way to get a lot of information.

3. Starting View is Very Far

Made it hard to see things clearly. Just far was the best to start from.

4. Making the 'esc' Key the View Changer